Future Makers Awards & Supports & Supports 2019 Finalists

Posted 07.06.19

Design & Crafts Council of Ireland’s Future Makers fund of €25,000 recognises and supports emerging Irish designers and makers

Image: Brian Kennedy; Independent Curator of contemporary craft, London; Alison Conneely, fashion designer and creative director, Dublin

DCCoI's Future Makers Awards & Supports programme for 2019 has a prize fund totalling €25,000 this year, rewarding the next generation of Irish creatives and assisting them as they develop a career in the design and craft industry. Finalists have now been selected by internationally renowned independent curator of contemporary craft, Brian Kennedy and Alison Conneely, fashion designer and creative director and previous Future Makers winner.

Future Makers Awards & Supports was established in 2009 and is one of several DCCoI initiatives supporting and investing in a new generation of talent in the design and craft sector. This year the programme is celebrating ten years of supporting emerging Irish talent. Divided into student/recent graduate and emerging maker categories and covering a broad range of disciplines, the Future Makers programme recognises and rewards vision, innovation and excellence in both making and the creative process.

Previous winners and recipients of Future Makers Awards & Supports have established and developed careers across a wide breadth of design specialties in the creative sector. Former winners include fashion designers Pearl Reddington, Natalie B Coleman, and Sorcha O’Raghallaigh; jeweller Pierce Healy; leather artist Úna Burke; design studio Superfolk; and furniture designers Cillian Ó Súilleabháin and Alan Meredith.

Winners will find out which award or support they have received at an award ceremony in Dublin on Friday, 14th June. The top prize for emerging makers is €4,500 and the top prize for students/recent graduates is €3,500.


Hugo Byrne
Sinead Curran
Chloë Dowds
Elaine Harrington
Éilís Murphy
Sinéad O'Dwyer
Helen O’Shea
Róisín Pierce
Alison Rodgers
Edel Traynor


Naomi Black
Conall Casey
Lydia Clayton
Lucy Cushley
Anna Grogan
Cathal Hogan
Chloe Joyce
Lorna Murphy
Mark Newman
Izzy O’Reilly
Anne Marie Reinhold
Bernadette Tuite
Hong Zhang

Full details on the programme are available at www.futuremakers.ie.

< back