National University of Ireland, Maynooth (NUIM)

The National University of Ireland Maynooth (NUI Maynooth) is internationally recognised for quality, dedication and commitment to teaching and to students.

The National University of Ireland, Maynooth was established under the 1997 Universities Act as an autonomous member of the federal structure known as the National University of Ireland. NUI can however trace its origins to the foundation of the Royal College of St.Patrick in 1795.

The University is a place of lively contrasts. It is a modern institution, dynamic, rapidly-growing, research-led and engaged, yet grounded in historic academic strengths and scholarly traditions.

Withover 9,000 registered students, NUI Maynooth has 26 academic departments which are organized into three Faculties: Arts, Celtic Studies and Philosophy; Science and Engineering, and Social Sciences.

Building on a tradition of scholarship and excellence in all aspects of its teaching and learning, and research activities, within the liberal arts and sciences tradition NUI Maynooth is committed to being a first class research-led centre of learning and academic discovery.


Undergraduate and postgraduate programmes.

Website / Facebook / Twitter